Wahl’s diet: purines and uric acid

San Diego

I’ve been doing the Wahl’s Paleo Plus (ketogenic) diet for a couple of months now. I fell into, and maintained, ketosis rather easily with a diet consisting of apx 60% fats, and 20% each of carbs and proteins.

I can’t say that I feel any better, but was willing to stick it out for 6 months to make sure and perhaps improve my underlying general health.

Now, my latest blood work shows elevated uric acid. As I look into the Wahl’s diet more, it’s really high in purines which can lead to elevated uric acid.

Purines include adenine, guanine, hypoxanthine, and xanthine. They help make up DNA and RNA, and energy molecules, such as ATP, GTP and coenzyme A. When broken down by the liver, they produce uric acid. Hence, a diet high in purines can lead to elevated uric acid.

In my case, I believe my uric acid was raised by nutritional yeast, organ meats, and spinach - all in large amounts. I’m just glad I caught it early.

So, I did what any reasonable person would do: I went to the freezer, took out my daughter’s leftover Ben n Jerry’s, and dug in. So much for ketosis! Tomorrow I’ll lick my wounds, deal with the inevitable breaking ketosis hangover, and decide where to go from here!

Anyone else?

bobby

@San Diego thanks for sharing. it's so important to know both good and bad effects of a diet. theory is one thing, reality can be an entirely different story. are you going to ditch the diet altogether, or tweak it to make it lower in purines?

good thing ben n jerry's were waiting for you in the freezer :D

San Diego

@San Diego thanks for sharing. it's so important to know both good and bad effects of a diet. theory is one thing, reality can be an entirely different story. are you going to ditch the diet altogether, or tweak it to make it lower in purines?

good thing ben n jerry's were waiting for you in the freezer :D