Poll Are Provider Comments in Your Medical Records Affecting Your Care?

Are provider comments in your medical records affecting your care?

• I have never reviewed the notes in my medical records

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I have seen comments that likely had a negative impact when viewed by other providers

Votes: 6 66.7%
  • I know I have been denied treatments or care based on negative or derogatory comments

Votes: 4 44.4%

• Total voters

VintageME

I'm a graduate student in a public health program and have been studying the impact of subjective comments in patients' medical records when they see a new provider. I think this is likely an issue for many of us with ME/CFS and even more so now with mandatory electronic records. I am exploring the idea of a study on prejudicial comments and would appreciate your participation. Please share any stories that would be helpful as well.

Creekside

I'm not sure whether it falls under "comments", but I had one GP forget to write a referral that he said he'd write (that was the purpose of that visit), and when I asked about it, there were no records of my past several visits (he was terrible with record-keeping). I filed a formal complaint, he was found at fault and required to take remedial lessons in record-keeping, but after that, at least one doctor at that clinic refused me as a patient. I did find another who accepted me, so not a big problem, but I can imagine I'm in the system as a "troublemaker", especially since my "mysterious illness" (ME) was still undiagnosed.

Snow