I have been using 5 HTP to good effect

5htpguy

I have a chronic-fatigue-syndrome-type illness which I believe I was born with.

I have been using 5 HTP for about 4 years now and it has been pretty effective at treating my illness. Considering that I don't know what it's like to not have a CFS type illness, I can't say that the 5 HTP has done that much to completely resolve the illness.

One of the main things it has done for me is increase my potential for muscle strength. I mention this first because I always had some strange problems with muscle strength. I wasn't sure what it was at first but I think it has a lot to do with not being able to hold on to heavy objects to prevent them from moving as opposed to actually moving objects. I also like to use muscle strength as a measure of health because I can measure my muscle strength empirically whereas with something like energy, I don't know how to measure that empirically.

Other things that have gotten better are my energy (basically my stamina for work), blood flow, motor skills, and my ability to react to situations or things people say faster so I don't seem inept.

I am wondering if anybody else uses 5 HTP or knows about it and what you all think about it.

5htpguy

Over time I figured out I had a CFS-like disease. The symptoms that affected me most were (1) an inability to make myself do more than a little bit of work every day (2) muscle weakness which is mild in terms of moving but seems to be severe in terms of holding objects in place that are moving.

I also had depression which is what got me into psychotropic drugs but it took a long time to figure out that 5 HTP was more effective than a lot of other stuff.

Thank you for responding! What kind of diseases do you have and what do you take? What do you think of 5 HTP?

Tammy7