Interview with Professor Jo Nijs

Pike

Jo Nijs is a Professor of Physiotherapy at the Vrije University of Brussels, Belgum and a manual therapist at the University Hospital Brussels. He is holder of the Chair, ‘Exercise Immunology and Chronic Fatigue in Health and Disease’ at the Vrije University of Brussels created by the research group Pain In Motion and the European College for Decongestive Lymphatic Therapy. His clinical and scientific research focuses on the treatment of “inexplicable’’ chronic pain and ME.

How did you get involved in the field of ME research?

In 1999 I started working for professor Kenny De Meirleir, and I did my PhD with him, studying fatigue and pain in patients with ME.

Can you tell us about some of your current research into ME?

Our work in ME is currently focused on epigenetics. With our research on epigenetics, we hope to unravel the increased sensitivity of the central nervous system (‘central sensitization’) as commonly seen in patients with ME. You can check out our latest study report here: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32562379/
In addition, our work on nutrition and central nervous system sensitization is of relevance to ME as well, you can check it out at https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32567396/

Many people with ME experience a variety of problems with regard to pain. These pain issues range from muscle pain to headaches. There are some doctors who argue that the cause of muscle pain may be polymyalgia rheumatica when muscles become allergic to gut microbes. Other suggested causes of pain in people with ME are poor energy delivery mechanisms and magnesium deficiencies.

What do you think may be causing these pain issues for people with ME?